
Solo Rules for the Base Game

Setup
Create a 2-player setup with these changes:

•	 Use Independent (teal) AlliesIndependent (teal) Allies, including the German nun 
marked with . Do not use Loyalist (Orange) AlliesLoyalist (Orange) Allies.

•	 Your Ship and Frederick’s Ship start 
in the “Roma” space on the Voyage 
Board. 

•	 Shuffle the Solo cards and place them 
in a face-down deck next to the Voyage Board. 

•	 If it's your first game or if you want to play an easier game, 
randomly choose 3 Edict tiles marked with   and add 
them to the ones used in a 2-player game. You may look at 
these tiles before shuffling them all together.

How to play
You play first, and take your turns 
as normal. On Frederick’s turn, 
flip a Solo card and perform the 
indicated actions on Frederick’s 
behalf. As long as you have at 
least 1 card in your hand, you 
cannot pass.

Exception: Frederick NEVER performs 
more than 5 actions in a round. After 
taking your 6th turn in a round (which 
becomes possible after Building the Keep 
that removes your Card Slot tile), proceed to the End Phase 
without flipping another Solo card.

Some of the Solo cards are marked with a crown ( ). 
When the second card with a crown symbol is revealed from 
the deck, shuffle all of the Solo cards to 
form a new deck of 16 cards at the end 
of Frederick’s turn.

In most cases, Frederick will move his Ship one or more steps 
to challenge you by removing cards or Allies from the Voyage 
Board.

Frederick does not perform actions like a human player, 
nor does he gain any VP.  He only performs those actions 
indicated on the Solo cards:

Challenge Frederick II to a head-to-head match! In this solo mode, you take on the "Stupor Mundi" himself. Will you manage 
to reach the title of Duke? 

Move Frederick’s Ship 1 space.

Do not move Frederick’s Ship.

Move Frederick’s Ship to the same location 
as your Ship.

Remove the Action card from the location 
of Frederick’s Ship (if possible).

Remove the Ally from the location of 
Frederick’s Ship (if possible).

Issue the indicated Edict.

When Frederick has to Issue an Edict: 

•	 Choose the Edict indicated by the Roman 
numeral on the Solo card: I is the topmost 
Edict, II is in the middle, and III is on the 
bottom. In the rare case where the Edict 
space is empty, Issue the next one in sequence 
(I → II → III → I). 

•	 Frederick always positively activates an Edict. 
This means he will only ever add resources, 
Structures, and Allies, and he will only ever Promote 
his Specialist along Path A of the Workplace Area. Any 
leftover steps are ignored (for example: if Frederick needs 
to add 2 Towers, but there are already 4 Towers, he adds 1 
Tower and ignores the other). 

•	 After Frederick Issues an Edict, remove it and replace it 
with the one in the corresponding position in the Next 
Edict spaces (top, middle, bottom). If that position is 
empty, replenish from the next one in sequence (I → II → 
III → I).

End of the game
At the end of the game, your score indicates the title you have 
attained: 
•	 0–29 VP: Serf
•	 30–49 VP: Knight
•	 50–79 VP: Feudal lord
•	 80 VP or more: Duke!



Example: JackJack plays an Action card in the fifth slot of his 
Player Board and decides to activate the Crusade Knights 
Board AA . He Purchases a Crusade Knights card for 2 
Augustales and adds it to his hand. Since he performed an 
action on one of the Crusade Boards, he has to flip the gold 
coin for each Crusade Board that has not yet been flipped to 
its papal excommunication side; in this case that's the Vatican 
Library Board and the Crusade Knights Board BB  (the Papal 
Allies Board is already flipped). 

JackJack first flips the gold coin for the Vatican Library Board. 
It lands on the "heads" side CC . Since there are already 2 
silver coins on this board DD , he removes the second and 
final Papal Book  EE , as well as the 2 silver coins. Since this 
Crusade Board is now empty, FrederickFrederick has to Issue an Edict 
and flip the board to its papal excommunication side. Since it 
is the leftmost Crusade Board, he Issues the Edict located in 
the "I" spot FF .  

Finally, JackJack flips a coin for the Crusade Knights Board, and 
it also lands on its "heads" side GG . He adds 1 silver coin to 
the board HH . 

Solo Rules for "The Postponed Crusade"

Solo Rules for "The Imperial Projects"

Setup
Set up the expansion like you would for a 2-player game. Set 
aside a gold coin for Frederick's use. 

How to play
Whenever you perform an action on one of the Crusade 
Boards, or when Frederick's cards are reshuffled, flip the gold 
coin for each Crusade Board that has not yet been flipped to 
its papal excommunication side. Proceed from left to right. 

If the coin falls on its "heads" side ( ), place a single silver 
coin ( ) on the appropriate Crusade Board.

Setup
•	 Set up the expansion like you would for a 2-player game, but only use 1 

Tower Project tile (instead of the usual 2). 

•	 Remove the following Condition tiles from the game before randomly 
assigning the others to the 3 Imperial Projects: 

How to play
Frederick does not interact with the Imperial Structures in any way. All other rules remain unchanged from the Solo Rules 
for the Base Game.

If the coin flips to its "heads" side and there are already 2 silver 
coins on the Crusade Board,  remove 1 component from that 
board (in the case of the Papal Structures Board, you choose 
which Structure to remove).

If, by doing so, Frederick removes the last component of a 
Crusade Board, Frederick Issues the Edict that matches the 
position of the Crusade Board he just emptied (1st, 2nd, or 
3rd, from left to right). For example: if he empties the rightmost 
Crusade Board, he must Issue the Edict located in spot number 
III. Finally, he removes the 2 silver coins present on the board 
and flips the Crusade Board to its papal excommunication 
side as per the usual rules. 
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